Commission Information

London Transit is defined by its vision and mission, which are:

Vision: The valued and trusted mobility choice for Londoners

Mission: Moving Londoners - progressively, reliably, and affordably

The vision and five linked strategic priorities are designed to transcend time, linking successive Business Plans. The five strategic priorities are:

- An integrated, affordable and valued mobility choice
- An engaged, diverse and respectful workplace
- Demonstrated fiscal accountability
- Being open, transparent and understood
- Effective utilization of infrastructure

Meeting Dates
The Commission will meet on the following dates in 2018. 

Meetings are held in the Main Boardroom at the London Transit Commission Office located at 450 Highbury Avenue North at 5:00 p.m.

January 31, 2018 July, 2018 - Meeting at the call of the Chair
February 28, 2018 August 29, 2018
March 28, 2018 September 26,  2018
April 25, 2018 October 31, 2018
May 30, 2018 November 28, 2018
June 27, 2018 December, 2018 - Meeting at the call of the Chair
 Meeting dates are subject to change without notice. This page will be updated accordingly.

Contact for Information:

Caroline Roy
Executive Assistant
450 Highbury Avenue North
519-451-1340 ext. 335

^ back to top

Current Commissioners
Sheryl Rooth Chair
Dean Sheppard Vice-Chair
Councillor Jesse Helmer Commissioner
Eric Southern Commissioner
Councillor Phil Squire Commissioner

^ back to top

London Transit's History

Public transit services commenced in London on May 24, 1875 when excited Londoners, celebrating the holiday proclaimed for Queen Victoria's birthday, clambered aboard horse drawn cars for the ride along Dundas Street between Ridout and Adelaide. Later that year, service commenced on Richmond Street between Dundas and Oxford streets.

Public transit began as a convenient alternative to walking and has developed into a vital service supporting sustainability for progressive, modern cities.

Original LTC Streetcar

Vintage LTC Bus LTC Articulating Bus
For more London Transit history, click here. You will need Acrobat Reader to view  or print the file.

^ back to top

Authority to Operate

The London Transit Commission is a corporate body with the powers, rights and privileges vested in it by the City of London Act (Bylaw A-6377-206).

The Commission consists of five members appointed by the Municipal Council of the Corporation of the City of London.

Two or three members of the Commission, as determined by the Council, shall be members of the Council and shall hold office during their term of office on the Council.

^ back to top

Agent of the Corporation

The Commission is the agent of the City of London responsible for the operation, repair, control and management of the local transportation system of the municipality on behalf of the City of London. This includes conventional transit and transportation for the physically disabled.


The Commission and the Council shall consult regularly on local transportation system policy and on the general administration and affairs of the Commission in relation to general municipal policy and the administration and affairs of the City of London.

If, despite the consultation, there emerges a difference of opinion between the Commission and the Council concerning the course of policy to be followed, the Council may by resolution give to the Commission a directive concerning the local transportation system policy of the Commission in specific terms and applicable for a specified period, and the Commission shall comply with the directive.

^ back to top